top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureabbyarend

Footsteps.

Every day we take thousands of steps,

We take steps to the right,

We take steps to the left,

We take three steps forwards,

And two steps back.


We step out of bed.

We step into morning.

We step out of cars.

We step into reality.


Some days,

My steps feel a little smaller,

My legs a little heavier,

My feet a little wearier.


Some days,

My steps feel a little bigger,

My legs a little stronger,

My feet a little lighter.


Some days are a little of both.

Big and Small,

Light and Heavy,

Weary and Strong,


It’s human,

To be afraid to take the next step.

It’s human,

To be more than ready to skip steps.


Can I be honest?

I’m more of the scared to take steps kinda girl.

I sometimes wish,

God could give me a sneak peak at my story.

The full thing.

I sometimes wish,

God could come sit with me,

And point out each step I should take.


But that defeats the meaning of faith,

Doesn’t it?


You see faith

Is not setting our eyes on what is seen,

But fixing our eyes on what is unseen.

Because what is seen is temporary

And what is unseen is eternal.


But gosh,

Faith is hard

Isn’t it?


I’ve felt this lately.

More than I ever have.

I have questioned.

I have doubted.

I have struggled.


I have questioned

Why I was called to take

Certain steps

And not others.


I have doubted

My ability to take on

The next chapter of my life.


I have struggled

With loneliness,

Fear,

Insecurity.


My faith has been tested

Day after day,

Week after week,

Month after month.


But you see,

No matter how dark the day,

Or heavy the struggle,

No matter how blinded I was by the world,

There was not a step that I took,

That was not being guided.

There was not a heartbeat without purpose,

A blink without vision,

A breath without life.


There was not a moment

That I was alone.


I don’t know if what you have read

Has resonated with you,

But if it has

I pray that this is your light

In your darkest night.


I pray this reminds you,

That even when you don’t feel it,


Your footsteps


To the right,


To the left,


Three steps forwards,


Two steps back


Have never been out of order


And every step


Stepping out of bed


Stepping into morning


Stepping out of cars


Stepping into reality


Have never been stepped alone


So yes it’s human,

To be afraid to take the next step.

And yes it’s human,

To be more than ready to skip steps.


And all honesty,

I have been scared to take steps,

Big ones and small ones.

I have felt lost and

I have felt alone.


And I sometimes wish

God could give me a sneak peak at my story,


The full thing.


And I sometimes wish,

God could come sit with me

And point out each step I should take.


But what my footsteps have taught me,

Is that each and every one,

Have brought me to the place

I’ve meant to be all along.


The scary steps brought me

Love

The small steps brought me

Strength

The unnoticed steps brought me

Perseverance

The quiet steps brought me

Wisdom

The big steps brought me

Confidence

The steps, the leaps of faith, brought me

To the feet of Jesus.


And that is where I have meant to be,

All Along.


And that is where you can be too

Full of love,

strength,

perseverance,

wisdom,

And confidence.


Right at the feet of Jesus,

The feet that have always walked in line with yours,

And have been guiding your every

Footstep.

105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Created for More

Sometimes I really wish I could text the good Lord and be like “what is happening?” The path I thought I would be on for quite longer than I actually was soon came to a dead end. I have played volleyb

bottom of page